The Student News Site of Saratoga High School

The Saratoga Falcon

The Saratoga Falcon

The Saratoga Falcon

Rainbow Magic: The most captivating series for 8-year-old girls

Ariel Zhou

Rating: 4/5 Falcons

As children, books served as the lens through which we expanded our minds and understood the world. Each visit to the library or bookstore followed a familiar routine, with our parents pushing us to check out the offerings in the nonfiction section or the more advanced literature like Harry Potter. 

But for us, we knew what book we were choosing every time we made the trip to the library: The Rainbow Magic series by Daisy Meadows almost had this powerful magical force on us, compelling us to pick Meadows’s signature chapter books every time we went to the library. 

The series features fairy characters who embark upon magical adventures in the fictional world known as Fairyland. The books follow two best friends, Kirsty Tate and Rachel Walker, as they meet new fairies, all of whom have special powers that they risk losing to the main antagonist Jack Frost and his goblin minions. 

The series comprises 228 books, each introducing a new fairy character. Each story follows a recurring plot, starting with a fairy requesting Kirsty and Rachel for help. The pair are then tasked with combating a particular challenge and to help restore peace in Fairyland. Typically, the girls must recover some sort of magical object that is also being sought after by Jack Frost, who’s motivations are fueled by jealousy and greed.

The books are grouped into several bundles of seven, depending on a fairy’s specialty. For example, the first seven books that came out were the Rainbow Fairies, consisting of “Ruby the Red Fairy, “Amber the Orange Fairy,” “Sunny the Yellow Fairy,” “Fern the Green Fairy,” “Sky the Blue Fairy,” “Inky the Indigo Fairy,” and “Heather the Violet Fairy.” Other groups include the Weather Fairies, the Jewel Fairies, the Party Fairies, the Pet Keeper Fairies, the Fun Day Fairies and more.

The simple plots of these books may seem repetitive and boring to some, but to little girls with never ending imaginations, these books have the ability to transport young minds into a world of imagination and fantasy. 

The books are all fairly short and easy reads for young children, with only about 100 pages per book, making them that much more rewarding since they can be read in a single sitting. Kids can pick up multiple books in a single trip to the library and travel to the world of Fairyland.

The Rainbow Magic series is an essential read for children with large imaginations. With a plethora of books to choose from, this series is one in which young girls rarely get bored with as they learn about the magical powers of fairies. 

Donate to The Saratoga Falcon

Your donation will support the student journalists of Saratoga High School. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Saratoga Falcon